Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

A Spiritual Riddle – by CordieB

 My creativity has been at a stall here of late. Perhaps it’s the zoids and pain killers I’ve been taking… In any event, I don’t seem to be able to focus long enough to write anything,  so, I thought I’d share something I wrote some time ago. . .   Blessings to all of you….

 


Photo courtesy of Jason McKim and is licensed under the Creative Commons 

I can be cold as the bluest, hottest ice
And hot as the bluest, fiercest fire. . .
I’m a false reflection of a conceptional misconception
Whatever your limited or infinite mind’s desire

You listen to my loud, yet gentle vibration
You believe me fully with no hesitation . . .
You see me with all colors of the beautiful rainbow
Is that really all the colors? Will you ever know?
Only if you can let me go. . .


I’m young and younger, black and blacker
Smart and wise. A genius. A true catalytic cracker
Beautiful, and most beautiful – is there really such a thing?
Breath in the melody that I most wonderfully sing!

I can be red, yellow, or indigo blue
Although I’m real in essence, I’m never the truth,
I’m at your worst, completely false;
Incomplete at your best; a simple impulse.

I can be joyfully sorrowful and sorrowfully glee, too.
But, whatever I am, I’m always completely real to you.
Do you feel me! Do you get my point!
Do you smell my noise? Can you hear my funk!
Can you see my darkness? Can you touch my light!
Can you smell my vision? Can you taste my sight!

Can you smell the painful pleasure, 
Can you taste the agony of the estasy?
No matter what, I’m always YOUR reality;
I am in you and you are in me.
If you change your perspective.
I’ll change mine– as your’s reflective.


I am oh so evil, and yet so kind
The world would be nothingness if I were blind.
But, maybe not-how dare I say?
And now I lay me down to pray . . .

I pray that you free me every then and now
From your dear self, for this I vow . . .
Will free you from hypocrisies
And all the false analogies. . .
From judgements, prejudices, anger and hatred …
These no longer exist, once I am emancipated.

My negation gives you insight, free and clear
Of a far away place that is yet so near
If you could release my blessed curse and damned grace
And move beyond object, time and space
For that brief moment in that sphere
You’ll sense a unity so crystal clear
Even beyond your limited, infinite imagination
Who am I, I am simply . . .

(click below for riddle answer)

YOUR PERCEPTION
By CordieB.


More thought on Perception . . . A note on perception is below.  It is authored by Jason McKim, a University of Virginia School of Law student and professional photographer (The artist for this posting’s photo).  I thought I’d share this with you. . . What’s your “perception” on my riddle and this young man’s words . . . ?

 
On perception, by Jason McKim . . .
. . .Our perceptions are not just sometimes incorrect, they are always incorrect.
For example, we have no ability to see color more than 10 degrees away from
the focal point of our eyes. That means that you can’t see any color in your
peripheral vision.

“Wait!” you say, “I can see color in my peripheral vision! You must be
wrong.” “But,” I reply, “I am not.” See, what happens is that your brain
makes its best guess and then presents that to you. For example, if you take
an apple and spray-paint it black and put it in someone’s peripheral vision,
their eyes will identify that it is an apple and the brain will realize that
apples are usually red, and the person will perceive that this object is the
color red. If they look at it and look away, however, the brain remembers it
as black and the person will perceive it as black.

So was the apple ever red? Despite our perceptions, no. Our brain constantly
alters our senses in ways even more fundamental than this. Our perceptions
are constantly, inescapably different from our sensations. Even if we decide
that there is no possibility for error in the eyes themselves, we still
cannot trust our vision.

And by what means your brain do this? It fits what information it does have
into your knowledge of the past and makes an educated guess. This has many
implications:

If someone looks like a dork or a punk or a slut, you will have incorrect
perceptions of them that confirm your assumptions.

If you expect someone to react in one way and are given ambiguous signals,
you will perceive the emotions that you expect.

If you think that a class will be boring, you will experience it as boring.

If you become consumed by fear of failure, there is no way that you will
think you succeeded, no matter how successful you actually are.

Stereotypes might be unavoidable. They are also fundamentally more powerful
than you imagine them to be.

So don’t trust your eyes. Don’t trust your ears. And above all, don’t trust
your thoughts.

Jason McKim

(then) College of William and Mary 

20 Comments»

  enreal wrote @

Brilliant!! Your words that you share here are profound… You deliver us wonder each and every day Cordie… Thank You for shining your light

  SanityFound wrote @

This is beautifully put, perception can be an interesting creature! Who are we all really? Thanks for sharing!

  Ingrid wrote @

Beautiful!

  cordieb wrote @

@Enreal, SanityFound, and Ingrid. Thanks so very much for your stopping by and leaving the such positive comments. It makes a difference. Thanks. Mwa…..Mwa….Mwa

  lostwidow wrote @

i had like a5 diff ideas as i read this the first time, i will read again, not sure if any fit totally… hmmm

o i got it… a heart! your heart…

first i was thinking soul then thought a drug or some sort, thought one’s mind at one point, but no now that i read again i def have to say one heart!!!!

  lostwidow wrote @

ah, the retrospect is such bitter sweet realization of trickery and deceit this alone should have told me – perception…. very good cordie, very good.

  Cordie `B. wrote @

@lostwidow. The Heart. You know it could be the heart too! I hadn’t looked at it that way until you submitted your answer. Wow, thanks for sharing! I looked at all the clues I had written, and they also describe the heart in our emotional sense! Again, thanks for the insight.

  rawdawgbuffalo wrote @

i have been said or had the same thing about me

  rawdawg wrote @

joyful yes

cold no
then u would not be a poet

  glaize wrote @

I see you far ahead
I see you far behind
I see you by my side

You are this, you are also that
I think therefore I feel
I feel therefore I see
You are what I
think, feel and see

In every corner of my mind
You sit quietly to jump on me
At every door to my heart
You knock in a 1000 disguises

You are what you are
simply made to be
You are what you are
decisively cunning
fed by my insecurities
burnt by doubts
and tugged by curiosity

My perception…
I see. Do you?
You are
what I made you to be
by choice of my own free will

Without you
I am
Empty

  cordieb wrote @

@Glaize. So true, enlightening, and hauntingly beautiful! Thanks for creating. I am, as alway’s grateful! Peace, Light and Love. . . CordieB.

  glaize wrote @

I’m glad to be back 🙂 off to do some catching up now

  occatGorHouts wrote @

sterngthdning the church and equipping ti for concern and (a) God. Apoprolriate langauge by itsntaurea
http://mail.ru
mail.ru

  tobeme wrote @

Excellent writing as always! I love how your mind works. Your creativity will flow, relax and enjoy.

  Nadege wrote @

hey cordie, your poem is the human epic. i see the many variations
one goes thru. in the course of time, either a year or a week. the
changes of the heart, mind and the soul, the many things we all
are and can be. expertly articulated.

  Nadege wrote @

sad to know you aren’t feel that well – will place you snugly
in my prayers

  Chris Edgar | Purpose Power Coaching wrote @

This reminds me of what Stephen Wolinsky says about perception — if you do not use your memory, association, or perception, what could suffering even mean?

  Liara Covert wrote @

Each word you choose is selected with precision and love energy. Hman beings do not always realize that everything they do is a gesture of love packaged in a wayto expand how we understand the true self. Everything is meaningful to those open-minded and ready to grow.

  Sorrow wrote @

Just caught that you have been unwell, and heavily medicated. I hope that you are feeling better.
If only the force of my will could make the world into the one i perceive it could be…
sigh.

  cordieb wrote @

@Tobeme. I’m going to do just that! Thanks for the concern. PLL, C.

@Nadge. Yes, Nadge, we all go through and experience all of this. It is the human experience. Isn’t it wonderful. 🙂 Pll, C.

@Chris Edgar. I don’t think we would have any suffering without perception, but on the flip side. . . would we experience joy…? Thanks for visiting – do visit again. Peace, Light and Love, C.

@Liara Covert. Thanks for visiting Liara…So true. The more we realize this, the better we will be able to let love freely flow in or out without inhibitions. Peace, Light and Love, C.

@Sorrow. I’m feeling better; but I’m still medicated. I hate to be medicated – it makes me feel unlike my self, if you know what I mean. Your presense here has indeed made me feel much better. Thank You! Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

