Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Friday Flash 55 (On David Letterman, Sarah Palin Controversy)

~Free Art

As a woman, I’ve grown weary of the underlying fears we face each day…fears that change where we go, what we wear, and what we say…even how we think….to a degree that has made it second nature to live in the low keyed fear.  I saw Sarah Palin’s response to David Letterman’s joke about statutory rape this morning; and since I’ve not seen the episode in question…I will hold my opinions on said joke.  But in general, I’ve become tired of how woman across the world have developed an inner fear to just be–and our fears are necessary not only because of how many men think and act but how society in general has embraced this semblence of what a woman should and should not do.  I quote, with a hinge of fear, one of my favorite statements about the condition of woman today.  I implore you to click on the link to read the quote in it’s entire context (it can be found under "Your Say," on Gregory David Robert’s web site.   And, the beauty of this statement is it is written by a man.

"It struck me — stupidly, for the first time — as horrifyingly unfair that women can’t enjoy this great pleasure, walking around a city alone in the soul-sleep hours after midnight, without fear that men will assault them. As this insight burned its way into my consciousness, and the stories of sexual attacks, told to me by women in every country where I lived, increased in number through the years…"

"UNLESS AND UNTIL WOMEN ARE FREE TO WEAR WHATEVER THEY WANT — OR WEAR NOTHING AT ALL, AS THEY FREELY CHOOSE — AND GO WHEREVER THEY WANT, AND DO WHATEVER THEY WANT, WITHOUT FEAR OF BEING ATTACKED BY MEN, WE CANNOT TAKE THE NEXT STEP TOWARD DEVELOPMENT AS A SPECIES."  ~Gregory David Roberts.

With that said, here’s my submision to the G-Man’s Fabulous Flash Friday, 55.

A Woman’s Low Keyed Fear

A woman’s low keyed fear is such…

We don’t even notice it much

We live with it day-to-day

Unconsciously afraid that what we do or say

Might provoke a society to feel

It can do to us something against our will

Or even worst make us feel we can’t be

Truely, Us; Truly Safe; Truly Free

~Written by CordieB.

10 Comments»

  aliceaudrey wrote @

I’ve gone round and round on this issue so many times, and ended to simply being with not so much a fear as a knowledge. I don’t do Take Back the Night marches. I simply walk alone at night, ready to defend myself if necessary. And still, I can enjoy the starry sky or the neon glow as I pass.

  cordieb wrote @

@Aliceaudrey. Good for you Alice! It’s ashame you have to feel ready to defend simply to take a walk. But, hey that’s life as we live it today. Blessings, C.

  G-Man wrote @

Cordie…You are one of the very most insightful people I’ve ever come in contact with.
What a Marvelous Mind you have!
Excellent 55 My Dear…Thank You so much for playing today.
Have a Great Week-End…Galen

  Dr. John wrote @

No politican man or woman is free to be truly us. Be it Palin or Obama the press grabs every word and twists and turns.
I know that isn’t the problem you were writing about but it fits.
Good 55

  questioneveryprecept wrote @

This is truly a dilemma. The violence, pathology and ruthlessness that Patriarchical capitalism has dictated to the young prince is on its last leg. May the light of consciousness sweep a road in our time that make it safe for all of humanity to walk upon.

  paisley wrote @

i have just recently entered a phase in life in which i am filled with fear,, i don’t know why and i cannot seem to shake it even tho i know how irrational it is.. this piece made me understand that i am not alone.. i am a woman,, and i guess that is just how we are….

  cordieb wrote @

@Gman. It is my pleasure. Thank YOU for creating!!!

  cordieb wrote @

@Dr. John….I believe anyone is free to be themselves, if they let go of all fears…. PLL, C.

  cordieb wrote @

@questioneveryprecept. I certainly hope so. I do see awareness in the horizon; and I feel it in the air! Continue your truths my friend, and I do pray you continue to share!!! PLL, C.

  cordieb wrote @

@Paisley. We are born with two fears; fear of loud noises and fear of falling….all other fears are developed over time. I think you’ll eventually become fearless. . . and that’s a fact! PLL…C.


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

