Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Tall Tales

There are those who often speak of the past. . .
of days gone by. . .the memories of far away
in a distant time; never to be seen again
the same old stories retold, again, so vivid, so grandeur of yesterday . . .

I used to become bored of these repeated stories…of good old days, told so often in bragging manner…then one day i realized, the past is seemingly all some people have left of their world to bring them zest. . . a tall tale to tell…to reminisce may bring much pleasure to those whose generation is fatefully becoming an unrelenting victim of extinction at an alarming rate.

So now, when I hear a retelling of a same old story…I listen patiently and laugh again…or cry again…or comment with interest…
and I try to bring some newness and something of life to look forward to the teller of the stories. . . for I realize they have somewhere, somehow…lost their vision of their tomorrows…for their tomorrows are by virtue of time and space…limited and coming to a closure in the not so distant future…

And I am reminded. . .in all senses of common sense that my past days now really do out number my future days of life as I
now know it…and this ratio will grow with each passing day . . . so  I strive to live a life NOW which will enable me to have lots of tall tales to tell…tomorrow…

But most importantly, I strive to live a life NOW that cultivates a love connection with others which may, if I’m blessed, encourage them to listen…to my tall tales…in my tomorrows…

Today…let us give thanks and appreciate the elderly. They are so often unappreciated; yet… they paved the way.

CordieB.

10 Comments»

  tobeme wrote @

You have made an excellent point about the eldery and their stories. It is interesting as we get older our long term memories become crystal clear while our short term memories become foggy. The telling of stories is very important, there are many lessons to be learned from these stories and it brings many of the elderly back to a place of purpose.
You are right to live in the now and to now created your own stories for you to share with those who you are cultivating to listen.
You have written a very wise post.

  vanessaleighsblog wrote @

Cordie: I am so sorry to have been away so long, but I guess I came back on just the right day. THis rings so true with me; about time moving on, and our past outnumbering our future days; and also, about living in the moment, each individual moment, to, as you say, ” strive to live a life NOW that cultivates a love connection with others which may, if I’m blessed, encourage them to listen…to my tall tales…in my tomorrows…”

I love that. How can anything be more important?

I absolutely love this one girl, hope that you are well, and sending you peace, love and hugs!!!!

  fibi wrote @

I love your writing.. It comes from the heart and that radiates through..

Nothing is more important than creating love connections with others..

Simply beautiful..

Love & light..

  kevmoore wrote @

This is so true…i had a friend, Keith Webb, who sadly died just over a year ago aged 73. He had lived a wonderful life as a musician. He would come and sit on my balcony and tell me his tales, from drumming jazz in the late 50’s to being Donovan’s drummer, then Terry Reid’s touring with the Stones and Cream through the late 60’s, jamming with Stevie Ray Vaughn in Texas..Keith had done it all. – And when he’d gone, those tales went with him, but he’d a least passed a few on, as I will pass them, and a few of my own on. The older generation are a living ‘wikipedia” of knowledge and more importantly, wisdom. Use it, or lose it!

  rawdawg wrote @

always give thanks to our elders and this post reminds me of why i like old movies so much

  paisley wrote @

life is just like anything else.. once the newness is off,, once the majority of the shoulda woulda coulda becomes did,, once the delight and wonder have turned to bills and meatloaf,, what else is there to do but talk about the days when it wasn’t like that.. we know we can’t get it back,, and what lies ahead looks ever so dull in comparison,, why not relive that which brought the most pleasure??? even if no one else understands……

  dana wrote @

nostalgia blooms from many emotions doesn’t it? We wax about the past most often when we aren’t happy with our present…or when we’re with a bunch of people we share our past experiences with….or when there are unresolved issues we need to heal in order to fully embrace the present and in order to forge ahead with plans.

no matter….if we are aware of the reasons for looking back, then i think we can incorporate it into the foundation we grow from.

interesting post….will chew on it more today.

  Grace wrote @

Yeah, Cordie..this post is spot on! I try to remember that I’ll be an Old Woman someday…and it helps me to be more patient and kind. Awesome reminder 🙂 Thank you!

  Butterfly wrote @

thank you for the sweet comments. I LOVE YOUR SITE! so much to see. you are lovely. i’ve added you to my blogroll and i’ll be back definitely.

~ much love ~

  cordieb wrote @

@tobeme “It is interesting as we get older our long term memories become crystal clear while our short term memories become foggy.” Perhaps it’s because the longer we know something, the more we repeat it in our brain, the more it becomes ingrained, thus the better we remember it! Just one of my little theories. . . Thanks for the lovely comment! Blessings!

@Vanessa. Back at cha sis! Even when we are not in touch, we are in touch, for sure my kindred sis! PLL, C.

@Fibi. Thank you spiritual friend! And thanks for your very wise, spiritual words shared each day!!

@Kev. . . “It is interesting as we get older our long term memories become crystal clear while our short term memories become foggy.” So true. . . my granny lived to be 105, and her stories are priceless and bring forth much wisdom! Peace, Light and Love. . . C.

@Paisley. You know, 20 years from now, these will be the good old days. . . so make them good fo sho . . . PLL, CordieB.

@Dana. . . “….if we are aware of the reasons for looking back, then i think we can incorporate it into the foundation we grow from.” Very wise words my friend. . . thank you for that! PLL, C.

@Grace. . . girlfriend, you’re never going to get old. . . perhaps older in years, but never old, and we both know that! PLL, C.

@Butterfly. . . I’m delighted you fluttered over here . . . do come again! The feelings are mutual. Peace, Light and Love. . C.

@


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

