Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Troy Anthony Davis – Remember Him…?

Troy Anthony Davis
Troy Anthony Davis!
Remember Troy Anthony Davis. . . ?  I wrote a post on him some time ago.  Well. . . we must remain vigilent in our endeavors.   I truely believe in Troy’s innocence.  And the facts speak for themselves, he was not afforded a fair trial.  When there is any doubt, I believe the weight of favor should be given to preserve life at any cost!    Please read the letter below, written by Sue Gunawardena-Vaughn, Director, Death Penalty Abolition Campaign,  Amnesty International USA.  Take time out to watch the video and send a letter to the Governor of Georgia.  Our voices may save Troy’s life.
Dear Dean,
The state of Georgia seems determined to kill Troy Davis. But your thousands of calls, faxes and emails have sent a powerful message that such an injustice is totally unacceptable. Georgia officials need to keep hearing your voice: Ask Governor Perdue to stop the execution of Troy Davis.
You’ve heard the facts already:

  • 7 of the 9 witnesses have recanted their testimonies
  • No murder weapon nor any physical evidence has been found to link Troy to the crime
  • One of the remaining two witnesses has even been implicated as the real killer

A new animated video, featuring original music by State Radio, illustrates the injustice of Troy Davis’ case. Video produced by Citizen.

Despite this mounting evidence in favor of Troy’s freedom, he continues to wait on death row.

Watch and share the story of Troy Davis by forwarding this new video to friends, family and supporters of human rights.

We are anxiously awaiting the court’s response to the latest round of arguments in Troy’s case that could be handed down at any moment. So the fate of Troy Davis is still very much in limbo. We need you to continue rallying support by spreading this video of Troy’s story any way that you can.

Each time you forward this video to a new person, you help build a stronger case for Troy and help tip the scale in favor of justice.

In Solidarity,

Sue Gunawardena-Vaughn
Director, Death Penalty Abolition Campaign
Amnesty International USA

————-

Sweet Revenge Turned to Eternal Regret

To the dismal chambers I watched him walk
His breath so shallow; he could not talk
I gazed into his coal, cold black eyes
He’d finally face well deserving demise . . .
For killing the man I loved so much . . .
..the wife I can no longer see, no longer touch
…the child who brought all my earthly joy banished
Due to an evil man; soon rightfully before my eyes vanquished
I felt my blood flow warmly through my veins with sweet revenge
Closure! My love one’s death finally avenged . . .
. . . . . . .
Two years have passed since the revenged death ejection
Of the man convicted solely on witness recollection
Seems evidence proves the man who walked the mile
Was not the man who stole my joy; my love, my smile
With hatred, I watched an innocent man die in vain
Funny, his death never brought closure or eased my pain
I still recall that young man’s mother’s scream
Agony in heartbroken eyes, such as I’d never seen
The pain of unjust reality literally took her breath
When her innocent son was sentenced to death
Her agony leaves me feeling numb, emotionally wrecked
Sweet revenge has turned into eternal regret

~By CordieB

 

 

4 Comments»

  rawdawgbuffalo wrote @

since gen oglethorp, ga was and willl always be a penal colony

  paisley wrote @

oh cordie,, this was an amazing tribute and call to action.. thank you so much in joining in the procession of hope that reaches out to the powers that be in the case of troy anthony davis…..

  SanityFound wrote @

Beautifully done huns *hugs*

  Mental Mist wrote @

This shook me. Will read more about Troy!

The poem was amazing, an inappropriate felicitation, I know


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

