Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Today I am devoted to stopping the things I do that do not honor who I am!

glassheart

Glass Heart - Courtesy of Vanessa Pike-Russell shared under a Creative Common's License

Life will let you get away with someting for a while, but sooner or later, you will pay the price! When you get the bill, don’t be shocked! Don’t act like you don’t understand! Everthing you do in life causes the effects that you experience. When you get the bill, be prepared to pay.

If you know that you are being dishonest, you must know that you can only get away with being dishonest for a while. Eventually, what you do and say will come back to bite you. When it does, don’t cry over the teeth marks! Acknowledge what you have done. Forgive yourself. Ask for forgiveness. Make amends or restitution if you can, and move on.
When you know that you engaged in activities that dishonor you, you know that you will eventually be called on your stuff. Only unworthy people can do unworthy things and get away with them. Since you obviously are not in that category, you can expect to get caught. When you do, don’t act innocent! Own your stuff! Acknowledge your deed. Forgive yourself. Ask for forgiveness. Make amends or restitution. Move on! Now here comes the hard part.

When the moment of reckoning comes, you may feel as if you are unable to forgive yourself. You may be too proud to ask for forgiveness. There may be no way you can make amends or restitution. In the worst case scenario, you may be faced with all of these possibilities at once. Should that happen, remember this: Life knows what you are capable of ! The only reason life has taken the time to point out your little shortcomings and nasty habits is that life wants you to act like you know who you are!

Until today, you may have been trying to get away with doing something that is in conflict with the things life knows about you. Just for today, stop doing things that dishonor you and act like the person you know you are!

Today I am devoted to stopping the things I do that do not honor who I am!

Iyanla Vanzant, Until Today

5 Comments»

  whypaisley wrote @

let the congregation say “amen”…

no truer words.. difficult,,, much more difficult to live than to speak or to write,,, but true in all aspects….

  Dan wrote @

Took the words out of my mouth, Paisley–nothing to say but Amen!!

  Grace wrote @

Hi, Cordie!

This was a great read. For myself, it seems that the things that I do to dishonor myself have to do with compromises I make by “going along to get along”. So that means the person I have to ask forgiveness of…is myself.

here’s to doing things differently! 🙂

Love,
Grace

  cordieb wrote @

@Dan and Paisley. Amen!

@Grace. . . “If you always do what you always did, you will always get what you always got. ” Here’s to doing things differently – new experiences are so exciting!!!!

  Dorothy McNair wrote @

Wow i have read every book and felt every word she has ever written. I have no life successes that i can see but I have lots of life regrets and pains it seem. like the more I learned the more the rain never stops coming. Even when the sun is shining and it’s raining some wrer in my small world. I thank you enough for being so candid with your thoughts and your words because again I find me on your pages


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

