Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

December is AIDS Awareness Month (Re-Posting)


HIV test result in hand. At an HIV and AIDS clinic in Lilongwe, Malawi.   Photo Courtesy of Shawn Hawkeye http://www.flickr.com/photos/hawkey/116429136/

Stay protected, get tested, know your partner.  

A young woman who is a member of the church that I attend off and on, one whom I’ve always admired and who speaks and carries herself so well, disclosed on Saturday that she is HIV positive.  Although this bright young lady had testified on several occasions that she was diagnosed with a chronic illness; because she also spoke and made soaps for breast cancer awarenes, I assumed she was a breast cancer survivor or was in treatment for breast cancer.  This beautiful, bright young lady, who is glowing with  outwardly good health and youthfullness, had such a bright outlook and positive demeanor. . . She is truly an inspiration.  Although she contracted the disease from a boy friend, who knowingly withheld his condition from her, she acknowledges total responsibility.  She is often approached by young men for dates, phone numbers, etc.  She tells each of these prospects that she is indeed HIV positive.   There reaction is often a real wake up call.


Great German advertisement explaining the anonymity of AIDS.    Courtesy of Jayo http://www.flickr.com/photos/thejayblog/319707946/

Remind your friends, your children, and your love ones to never take chances with their lives – you can not determine a person’s condition from their appearance or actions:  Wrap it Up!     Also, get tested!  It’s easy and painless.  It only involves a simple saliva swab.  You will want to know in order to start proper treatment and to ensure that you do not unknowingly pass on this potentially deadly disease.
Life is beautiful and it is to be cherished by all. Pause, think about life and spread a little awareness around on AIDS Awareness Month. Encourage everyone to talk about the menace of HIV.

I’m lighting a candle for those who I know are HIV or AIDs victims.  If you would like to place a candle for victims of HIV, feel free to add that person in the comments. I will place a candle to each name added.

candle41.gif Carlisa Ross (Departed November 2004)

candle41.gif Maurice Bell (Departed)

candle41.gif Lenny D’Amico

candle41.gif Joe D’Amico

candle41.gif Joe Masiell

candle41.gif Jeff David White

 

"He’s My Brother"

The road is long
With many a winding turn
That leads us to who knows where
Who knows where
But I’m strong
Strong enough to carry him
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother.

So on we go
His welfare is my concern
No burden is he to bear
We’ll get there
For I know
He would not encumber me
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother. 

If I’m laden at all
I’m laden with sadness
That everyone’s heart
Isn’t filled with the gladness
Of love for one another.

It’s a long, long road
From which there is no return
While we’re on our way to there
Why not share
And the load
Doesn’t weigh me down at all
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother.

by Sidney Russell and Robert Scott, (C)1977 Harrison Music Corp., Jenny Music (ASCAP)

7 Comments»

  cordieb wrote @

I’m lighting a candle for those who I know are HIV victims. If you know of any victims, feel free to add that person in the comments. I will place a candle to each name added.
Carlisa Ross (Departed November 2004)

  persistentillusion wrote @

Just when I think I have seen everything possible about aids…wow, that German ad.

  hissweetheart wrote @

Oh, that’s so sad!!

I donno what to say for her!!

  psychscribe wrote @

Lenny D’Amico
Joe D’Amico
Joe Masiell

  cordieb wrote @

@Hissweetheat. . . Don’t be sad. . . she is an inspiration and motivator with strong inner strength and a basket full of faith. . . She has found a purpose in educating and helping others so that they might avoid the path for which she now has to walk. She has touched so many in a positive manner; and I have a strong feeling she will be one of the few who lives a long, healthy life, inspite of. . .

Blessings my friend! CordieB

—–

@Psychsribe. . . I shall light a candle and place a candle for Lenny, Joe, and Joe. Blessings. . .

Peace, Light and Love. . . CordieB.

  vanessaleighsblog wrote @

Cordie: thank you for keeping this fresh in people’s minds……. so many individuals think that they are immune from this, but this is a virus that does not discriminate, there is no way to know who has this disease by looks alone, no matter what ones’ sexual orientation is……..

Please, a candle for my brother, Jeff David White, if you would…..

You are a gem! 🙂

  cordieb wrote @

@Vanessa. . . . I am saddend to hear that Vanessa. I think we are starting to really slip with HIV/AIDs awarness . . . so many young people (and old people too) contract this disease each and everyday, dispite the fact that it is almost 100 percent if not 100 percent preventable. I have added a candle to Jeff’s name and will light a candle for Jeff too. Peace, Light and Love. . . CordieB.


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

