Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

The Darker Side of Love ~Part I

Blue Heaven Michelle, By CordieB

Blue Heaven Michelle, By CordieB

This is part 1 of a short story that I am writing.  As I am making this stuff up as I go, I have no clue what the end will bring.  Since it is to be a short story and it is a gift to all of you for Hallows Eve. . . I promise to conclude it by Midnight Halloween – that is if the globlins don’t get me before then.   Hope you like the beginning  . . . Blessings to all.

The Darker Side of Love Part I  ~Written by CordieB ©2008

I stared out of the window of my second floor duplex – going back in time to when I first met Orph. Time had passed so fast . . . so much had occurred. I had met him soon after my divorce 19 years back, while pretending to browse through books at the local library. My mom had warned me to not jump into a relationship so fast, but his charisma and mystery literally swept me off my feet.

I was suffering from loneliness and an extreme case of low self esteem. I had told myself that I would never get into another relationship again – I would concentrate on my non existent career and education. I would write a book, join a poetry club . . . there were so many things I planned with my new found freedom. But as always, my plans were only grandeur dreams. I would visit the library just to have some place to go – to watch people who appeared safe and, above else, distant. My self esteem was so low after the divorce that I could not bear to converse and socialize with friends or family. I had slowly crawled into a shell of which, although I wanted out . . . could not muster the energy or courage to do so.

I had seen him many times before in the library. I had envisioned us being lovers, walking through parks . . . making love in dark unknown places. But my protective shell was so dense, I had not the ability to strike up the courage to even look at him for more than a few seconds; yet alone speak to him.

I had seen him when he first walked in the library. He wore all black, including a black trench and a black brim hat. He would always sit his hat on the same table each time he came into the library. He always searched in the mystic section of books.

I usually stayed in research – but at times I would venture into the mystic section; today was one of those days. I saw him from the corner of my eyes. He was coming down the aisle I was on. I quickly grasped a book from the shelf and began pretending to read it. I felt his shadow behind me. Oh my goodness, he had stopped right behind me and was no more than an inch away from my back, my behind. He leaned over my shoulder, softly pressing his chest to my back, and whispered into my ears . . . very lowly and sensually, "I am Orpheus, follow me." I could feel his warm breath on my neck. I felt like I was about to melt, yet I stood motionless for at least 15 seconds. I turned around only to see him walking slowly, yet swiftly out of the library, brim in tow. . .

There was an essence about him . . . like a trail of opiated smoke, that made me follow him that fateful evening. I was more than willing to accept whatever consequences came from following this dark, strikingly mesmerizing, stranger. In fact, no matter what I told myself, I could not help my self. He was like a mysterious magnet, and I metal fragments unable to withstand the magnetism.

Orpheus continued walking down the dark sidewalk. Although he never looked back, I knew he knew I was behind him. He continued to walk at a slow to medium pace – assuring that he would remain in my view. Finally, he turned into an old abandoned looking mansion that looked like it could have been used for the Adam’s Family or the Munster’s. As I came upon the spooky mass building, I hesitated about going in.
Finally, I was beginning to regain my senses. What on earth was I doing? Here I was following a strange man, whom I’d never officially met, named, of all the crazy names, Orpheus—or so he says. I stood outside of the fence and looked up at the huge window facing the street – not knowing whether to hurry and walk back or to go into the mansion. I sat there for what seemed like hours, unable to move either way. Finally, Orpheus came to the window and motioned me inside. It was the beginning of a love affair that most only experience in fiction. . . .

Orpheus made love to me in one of the many rooms of the abandoned mansion before even speaking another word to me. I could not believe I was making love to a total stranger – named Orpheus. The passion within me was overwhelming. He touched and caressed me in a manner which I’d never experienced my entire life. After hours of making love, Orpheus finally laid still, pulling me close to him.

He whispered "I want you forever, will you marry me."

"Marry, you; I don’t even know you. You don’t even know my name."

"I’ve already given you a name. I named you long ago. Your name is Charna, eternal lover of Orpheus."

I begin to laugh. I felt as though I had known Orph all of my life. I begin to call him Orph for short . . . it was like a feeling of familiarity I had never experienced with any other man. I knew at that time that I would love him forever; although I didn’t know anything about him, really.

"Charna is a very lovely name. I wish my mom would have named me Charna for real."

Orph sat up and stared into my eyes, holding my hand. "And so, Charna it is and you shall be my wife." We shall marry at the first full moon at the river of No Trespassing.

"Where is the River of No Trespassing?" I enquired.

"Orph laughed. It’s part of the James River Park, there is a sign at the entry which reads "No Trespassing after Dark."

"Ahh . . ." I giggle. "That’s cute."

I looked into his piercing dark eyes, knowing in my mind, that yes, I would marry him, although I knew it was crazy, I could not refuse anything Orph asked. It was a strange feeling. I was possessed.

Little did I know that fateful evening that I had been lured by Orpheus, Lord of the Night, and had become enchanted by his aurora. As time passed, Orph introduced me to all his night friends – those who lived a dark life as he did. I was introduced to wizards, witches, fairies and of course vamps. Soon before we wed, Orph confessed to me that he was a vamp, although I had suspected so much. I asked very few questions when we first met, as I was blindly charmed by his presence. Anything he told me would have been just fine; it would not have mattered.

Orph promised me that he would never bite me. He loved me beyond anyone he had experienced in all his 189 years on earth. He did not want to curse me with eternal earthly dwelling. I personally had thought it to be a blessing to be able to live eternally and everyone I knew other than the other vamps searched for eternal youth. However, Orph insisted that with every blessing there is a curse. "The bigger the blessing, the bigger he curse," he would often say.

My mother didn’t know that Orph was a vamp; but she was mesmerized with his presence, as were all of my family and friends. Everyone was curious as to what Orph did for a living. We decided it best to tell everyone that Orph was a manager for a local fast food store than to go into details of how he had survived for over 180 years.

In the beginning years, the fun and excitement of living the vamp life was cool. I would work during the day; while he of course slept. In the night we’d have wild parties in the seemingly abandoned house that came to life magically each night. Witches, warlocks and vamps from all over town would come each evening to party, drink and be merry. Orph had friends who worked in local blood banks who provided enough blood to all the vamps to enable them not to kill for survival, at least not on a regular basis.

As time passed, I became increasingly self conscious about my aging process, as Orph remained trapped in time and eternally youthful. I didn’t feel like the youthful young woman whom had met Orph that fateful evening some 20 odd years ago. Orph insisted that my beauty was ageless and that he loved me more each day. Yet, as his group of underworld friends continued the saga of underworld partying, enriched with sex and youth – and I was noticeably aging, in more ways than one – I became extremely bitter, detached and even perhaps evil; yes evil is what I was slowing descending to.

I insisted Orph bite me, as I was aging at what seemed to me as rapid speed. I wanted what youth I still possessed to be encapsulated. However, Orph refused my request. He insisted that I remain mortal; that it was the only way. I did not understand his selfishness. I had planned to even have an affair with one of his vamp friends . . . just so that I could be bitten. . . .

Continuation – Part II

10 Comments»

  Amber wrote @

Can’t wait to see where this goes…

  rick mobbs wrote @

Beautiful image of your daughter with the umbrella/parisol. Will you keep working on the story?

  SanityFound wrote @

I look forward to the next installment, you write well hun, seriously wow!

  paisley wrote @

uh oh… i have a feeling this could go way wrong……

  cordieb wrote @

Thanks everyone for reading. . . Part II is now up. I really appreciate everyone’s comments.

Peace, Light and Love. . .

CordieB.

[…] with The Darker Side of Love ~Part I and The Darker Side of Love ~Part […]

  cordieb wrote @

@All. Thanks for your continued support. I shall continue it – promise. I have it in my head; just need to materialize it. . . .

  angryafrican wrote @

Okay… I am moving straight on to number II!

  glaize wrote @

Aww Cordie, I missed so much! Well, better head on to part 2 now – love this one darl! I’m sorry I’ve been away for a while but I’ll try to make up for it ~

  cordieb wrote @

@Glaize. What a delightful surprise to have you visit this evening. I’ll have to pop on in on you too!


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

