Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

The Tables Turn, Turn, Turn

It’s not been the most pleasant of weeks.  Along with having a bad cold, I’m sadded that another young person was violently killed this weekend in Richmond.  . . . G’s cousin . . . beautiful person, Erica, only 21.  Although I’ve never met her, her smile and tributes from friends and love ones speak volumes of her soul.  The insanity of the violence among our youth is depressing to say the least. 

But today I simply want to share wise words from the Bible in memory of Erica . . . and all the young people who have lost their lives far too quickly in my human eyes. . . I also must remember . . .

To everything there is a season, and
a time to every purpose under the heavens:

A time to be born, and a time to die;
a time to plant, and a time to pluck
up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal;
a time to break down, and a
time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a
time to gather stones together;
a time to embrace, and a time to
refrain from embracing;

A time to get, and a time to lose;
a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and a time to sew;
a time to keep silence,
and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate;
a time of war, and a time of peace.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens. . .

Ecclesiastes 3:1

I ask, when will the time come for Peace!  Do we simply wait for the tables to turn or do we do something to promote it?   I feel that we must shift the paradigm of war and violence; it is time we started making positive steps to ensuring peace in our homes, our neighborhoods, our communities, our world!   It all begins in the homes. . . we can control that little bit of our universe, don’t you think?  It will grow if enough seeds are planted.  Do the tables simply turn without our interference in any manner?  Will it all balance itself out in time?   Do we not have to sow in order to harvest?  Is not what we sow not what is harvested?  Continue being indifferent if we must, but one day our peace might be shattered . . .    Therefore, I must do something. . . .

Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

15 Comments»

  Amber wrote @

I am sickened and saddened. I look at her beautiful shinny face and I think… huh? How? Why?

There are no words for this… nothing. Just a soul filled with sadness.

  vanessaleighsblog wrote @

My heart aches for the loss of this beautiful young woman…… and Cordie honey, it might not feel like much, but you ARE doing something; you are writing and creating and speading the message of peace as much as you can…. many of us are…. and yet, bad things still manage to keep happening….. it is tragic and frustrating, and what I hope is that in the perpetuation of peace by the few of us now, that it will spread to more and more people who will catch it and pass it on……… sending you big hugs, my friend….. Vanessa

  Sorrow wrote @

Yes, i think we can do something to turn the tides.
Lots of small things, done every where by caring individuals.
have you seen this post?
http://soaringimpulse.blogspot.com/2008/10/conspiracy-of-love.html
it reminds me so much of what a commitment to change really means.
it’s not about what i can do in this lifetime, but what i can do for my children and grands children’s lifetime…

  rawdawg wrote @

she has a lovely smile have a geat weekend sister

  enreal wrote @

So sorry for your loss… ultimately she went to God… these unnecessary deaths make me so sad… thank you for your words… this is one of my favorite passages form the bible…

  whypaisley wrote @

i have been so fortunate in that accept for my david i have never lost a loved one due to any kind of violence or accident…

an untimely death is always the hardest,, but knowing that it was indeed preventable must be the worst…

here in spirit….

  gypsy-heart wrote @

Ah….CordieB we are all so saddened to hear this heart breaking news.

I will mention Erica and all of you when I light my candles.

Energies of love and peace of heart to you.

  cordieb wrote @

@Amber. Police thinks it was a robbery. It happens far too often; and has increased so much since we were young girls. . . it has to stop – I wish I knew how.

@Vanessa. Thanks for your words. . . they always lift my spirits and make me think!

@Sorrow. Thanks for the link. I visited the link this morning. . . he’s doing wonderful things. And yes, we can make a difference! Thanks for the reminder! I shall visit it again.

@Rawdawg. Beautiful smile indeed. Same to you Dawg!

@Enreal. I know, I love these words. I was blessed to have read them on your blog a week or so ago; at a time when I really needed to hear it – – again thanks for your kindness. . .

@Paisley. I have experienced the death of many close family and friends; and it never makes it easier – I’ve not gotten used to it as some people have said to me – i did not know this young lady (g’s cousin)- but her smile and spirit from those she knew somehow captured my heart. Also, as you may know, I’m an advocate to prevent the street killing/violence of young people. My nephew was killed some time ago. My son has to face things that I never had to face. So many of my children’s friends have been shot . . . so very many. Thanks for your kindness. . .

@Gypsy Heart. Yes . . . please light a candle. Your energy always brings me comfort – although I may need it – send it especially towards the parents of this young lady – I can’t imagine their sadness. . . energies of love to you dear Gypsy Heart.

  SanityFound wrote @

So sad all of this violence, so many dying so young and at the hands of others who do not have the heart or soul to understand their actions.

Am sending you hugs and love sis, I know this sadness well. Hang in there! *more hugs*

  cordieb wrote @

@SanityFound. Thanks sis; the hugs and love is always needed; never can get enough. It is times like these I wonder????? —Yet I’m blessed to know that all is not in ruin. There are peaceful hearts out there; you being one. Hope you’re feeling better. I’ve sensed the mood and tude – lol. Peace, Light and Love. . . CordieB.

  SanityFound wrote @

Its been a really rough week filled with lawyers, hysterical mother, threats and heavy hearts… sorry if I have been different – I go into a mode

  cordieb wrote @

I’m so sorry to hear that. You’re not in any trouble I hope – drop me an email if you get a chance. I’m keeping you in my thoughts. Mwah!

[…] epidemic of the 80’s  which damn near destroyed a whole generation; the deaths of Ja mal; Erika and 14 year old, Deshaun.    There are countless others whom I have not written about. . . yet my […]

  Melissa Grubb wrote @

i was shocked my self to hear about Erica. i know Erica from a long time ago. i must say when i was about 10 and i think she was 13. i turn 18 tomorrow so yeah. but anways she lived down the street from me in my neighborhood. we use to play in my backyard on my swing set. i can remember like it was yesterday. but my heart is with everyone involving the loss of this wonderful person

  cordieb wrote @

@Milissa Grubb. . . such beautiful memories of your childhood friend. The innocence of childhood and the love you shared shows through your writing. Continue to let the fond memories carry you through. Don’t allow this insane violence in our community taint you…as you seem to be a beautiful young lady full of hope and promise. My thoughts are with you, young one. Peace, Light and Love, C.


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

