Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Photo Friday – Old Cars (Sunday Afternoons After Church) ~By CordieB.

Initially, I had not planned to submit for this week’s Photo Friday because time did not permit me to take a picture of an old vehicle. Additionally, I did not have any photos that I had previously taken. But the rules were adjusted somewhat this week, whereas we can submit pics that we did not take. So I thought I’d share a picture taken in the early 60’s of my mother and aunt Anna. Both have gone on to another realm; bless their souls.  To see this pic in a larger view; please visit my photo blog or click on the pic .

Sunday Afternoons After Church

Sunday Afternoons After Church

Sunday afternoons after church in the 60’s were so full of neighborhood and family values: Families and friends gathering together for Soul Food, good conversation–everyone wearing their Sunday best – so full of love and tradition. Boy do I ever miss those days. I myself often carry out the Sunday tradition; but unlike the days of old, it’s always me doing all the cooking and most of us did not come from church! Wow do I miss the days when many of the women gathered in the steamy kitchen talking trash, laughing – whilst the men, admiring their families, talked “business” in the dining room. Now I know that we’ve progressed so much from the 60’s; but some things, in my opinion, did not promote progress, but a sense of individuality bringing forth separation that saddens me. No longer do I see the community and family unity – everyone’s for self now. This, in my opinion, has caused depression, poverty, violence and a malady of social problems. So today, let’s strive to live that life of the 60’s, and bring family and community together.

Sunday Afternoons After Church ~By CordieB

Oh how I miss the days of old . . .

When family unity was the goal

Of every bright or weary soul

Oh how I miss the lost tradition

When helping hands was the mission

When we knew all our neighbor’s names

When we’d speak to all who peacefully came

walking down the clean sidewalks

stopping for friendly gossip and small talk

When neighbors would watch over the young

and everyone knew every one

when neighbors could spank that ass

for talking smart or acting fast

and then I’d get another one

after the neighbor told my dad or mom

When children still played hide and seek

When strong families always helped the weak

When unity meant what it should

and not simply another cliche’ buzz word

When fathers could not abandon theirs

without humilitation, points and stares

and of course lots and lots of old folk’s prayers

When the corner store owner lived in the neighborhood

and there was no such thing as “living in the hood”

And people usually acted like they knew they should

The Sunday afternoons after church dismissed

When family and neigbors gathered to reminice

And laugh and cry and love each other

and every one was treated like a sister or brother

I miss it all, but alas life goes on

So at least I’ll carry the tradition on

So if you miss those days, come visit soon

My home on Sunday Afternoons

~Written By CordieB

————-

Tall Chick Tales

A Curious State of Affairs

SpatulaHandle’s

Idea Jump!

Ivey’s Story Weblog

Just for Fun

Have a soul filled Sunday!

8 Comments»

  SanityFound wrote @

Nostalgia, I felt transported back to that time, you had warmth in those times gone past. What beautiful memories to have yes? The moon says hallo and *hugs* and lots from me to sis!

  angryafrican wrote @

I don’t know how you do it. I could actually see that Sunday. I could actually want to be in that Sunday. Beautiful

  Hayden Tompkins wrote @

That picture is amazing. You can just FEEL it.

  paisley wrote @

i left my comment over on the photo blog… i cannot believe i have never been there before… well i tell you now you will not be able to keep me away!!!!!

  gypsy-heart wrote @

Your photograph and your words made me teary eyed! How lovely they looked..especially their hats! Now I see where you inherited your great sense of style and good looks. 🙂

If I lived near you CordieB I most certainly would come on a Sunday afternoon!

Energies of love, light, and peace of heart to you!

  rawdawgbuffalo wrote @

be safe sister

and hats off to phyllis wheatly on this day

  dumakey wrote @

I always find things like this sad, reminds me of what I missed. Great post though I could almost feel that I was there!

  cordieb wrote @

@SanityFound. Instalgia indeed. The moon brings such every night; don’t you think. I’ll be having wine with the moon tonight, care to join? PLL. CordieB.

@PI. Thanks dearest! Or has time rewritten every line . . . . PLL, CordieB.

@Paisley. As always, thanks Paisley for visiting. I’m just honored that you dawn your poetic presense here so often. PLL, Cordieb.

@GypsyHeart. Thanks GH; you’re too kind. Energys of Light to you too dearest Gypsy Heart.

@RawDawg. Thanks RawDawg. I’ll have to go check out Phillis Whitley; I’m sure you’ve provided an excellent history lesson on your blog! Thanks for the info! PLL, Cordieb.


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

