Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Deep Reflections – If I could choose any gift, I would give you back yourself

 I was inclined to repost this today after reading Paisley’s blog entries entitled, Remember the Monkeys and and I wait .  So often in life we wander with goals and ambitions – that really are expectations handed down to us by society, family, associates, etc.   So I ask again . . .Who are we really . . .?Peace, Light and Love, CordieB. 
Photo courtesy of  joka2000 and is licensed under the creative commons

I read a poem entitled "Helen" today.   I thought to myself, what a beautiful poem.   Of all the gifts that Helen’s husband could bestow upon her, even if he had an infinite store, the one that he knew was most valuable was to" give her back herself."   He goes on to say, he would also provide his true self, if only he could find where it lay hidden and proved kind.  

And You, Helen, By Edward Thomas

And you, Helen, what should I give you?
So many things I would give you
Had I an infinite great store
Offered me and I stood before
To Choose. I would give you youth,
All kinds of loveliness and truth,
A clear eye as good as mine,
Lands, waters, flowers, wine,
As many children as your heart
Might wish for, a far better art
Than mine can be, all you have lost
upon travelling waters tossed,
Or given to me. If I could choose
Freely in that great treasure-house
anything from any shelf,
I would give you back yourself,
And power to discriminate
What you want and want it not too late,
Many fair days free from care
And a heart to enjoy both foul and fair,
And myself, too, if I could find
Where it lay hidden and it proved kind.

As romantic as this poem is, I ponder, can anyone ever really take someone’s self away; let alone give it back?  Or was Helen’s true self lost by chance, by her daily living?  Was Helen even aware of her true identity?   Did Helen loose herself once she was born?  Was Helen born into a society, much like today, whereas it was almost impossible for her to really ever be herself?    Do we instintively know good from bad?   Do we intinsively know right from wrong?   The poet, Helen’s husband, questioned whether he could ever find his true good self because it was hidden.   Do we instintively know that chocolate taste good? Do we instinctively wear our hair long, or short, or are all these conditions which have been handed to us by society, family, the world–our environment?   How does one get one’s true self back?  To accomplish this state, do we not have to relinquish all preconceptions, judgements, predjustices, ideas, ideals and all we were taught and exposed to from the day we were born, perhaps even before that time?

Today, I also read another poem and/or prayer (depending on who you are is how you will interpret it) by Rahul at: http://insearchofi.blogspot.com/2007/07/o-lord_07.html :

Oh Lord – By Rahul

Take away my fears
They scare my simplicity

Take away my obsessions
They scorch my soul

Take away my ambitions
They push me around

Take away my comfort
It makes me slothful

Take everything away
And give me back myself

Give me back my emptiness…

Now, wasn’t that just awsome!  I truly had never thought about regaining my true self to that degree!  Almost everything we are is a reflection of something else!  Once we take away everything, what are we truly left with?    Rahul’s blog reads at the top, "O Absolute energy! O Ultimate consciousness! Grant me the fearlessness to be myself.  

What a wonderful, blessed prayer!

So inspired by these writers, I decided to write my own poem today. 

_______

Who Am I

Everyone needs something

No matter who we are or how we think

No one can live without something . . .

Be it love, bread, air or water to drink.

Everyone’s a slave to something

But the choice is very clear

We can choose to what and whom we lend Ourselves …

So often in life, our choices root from fear;

For everthing we choose to let go

Another choice is sure to follow;

Jesus said, Blessed is the poor in spirit,

He knew that it is a blessing to truly be worryless; 

To know that our Creator provides all of it…

He knew to have an unburdened spirit is the key to life beyond

The fallacies and mailadies, that plague us for so long.

To not worry about not having enough or having too much;

To truly be one with God and one’s-self is –To Be– Free– in-touch;

For, unless we can let go all cares, ambitions, hatred, external comforts, or anything . . .

We are merely partly slaves to ourselves and partly slaves to something. . .

What is it that you will be a slave to? . . .

That is the gift of Free Will God has given you . . .

So you feel someone or something has stolen the gleams

of Life from your eyes and invaded your dreams?

Only God can truely erase your true nature . . .

Which was within you from the begining; no need to mature. . .

Your Creator has given you paramount choices; Free Will.  

But that’s only a fraction of God’s wonderment, still.

A curse if used in evil,  A blessing if used to inspire. . .

But if regaining your true self is truly your desire,

To regain, reveal, and be your real true self,

You must be willing to let go of every negative, unloving else.

Release imbedded pride, judgements, illusions, lies, anger, fears, hatred, prejudice and preconception

For God’s love is your Alpha, Omega, Beginning and End, your true self, your Heaven

 

 

 ~Good Friday to everyone.  It is through the teachings and love of Jesus Christ that I am able to realize the God (Goodness) within myself and the goodness in everyone of God’s creations; and know that our Creator provides all; Created all; and we originated in Him. 

Peace, Light and Love . . . ~CordieB.

13 Comments»

  SanityFound wrote @

Beautifully said my friend as you say Peace, love and blessings Aud

  lostwidow wrote @

simply lovely cordie ty4 sharin it

  paisley wrote @

once again i thank you for the linky love… i was impressed by every entry here,, and i wanted to comment especially on the questions regarding “ones self” that you posed at the close of the poem about/for helen….

i believe that the self is the only thing we really have possession of.. solely and completely.. we can allow it to be shared,, even cause it to become enmeshed with another,, but never really give it away or allow it to be taken..

thus,, we can never really posses another,, they are ad infinitum their own possession… never ours..

lovely post all the way around….

  rawdawgbuffalo wrote @

i would give the ability to think and reason

i put some verse up friday chk it pls

  lostwidow wrote @

who are we? wonderful premise for blogging
I am someone everyday but something always changing as well… surf on over, and we’ll talk more
hugs n loves
-g

  Wedding wrote @

A repairable scratch will have a slight reflection in the disc. Wedding

  rawdawgbuffalo wrote @

great inspiration

  gypsy-heart wrote @

I agree with everyone CordieB…all of these were beautiful..I especially love reading your words!

Energies of love, light, and peace of heart to you!

  dumakey wrote @

Really great blog, I have been thinking a lot of late about what it is to be me, the who and what I am, and the pointlessness to the way we live at present, sort of play acting at living with out really living.

  cordieb wrote @

@GypsyHeart. Thanks Gypsy. Energies of Love, Light and Peace to you too dear Gypsy Heart.

@Dumakey. Welcome to my little “peace” of cybersphere. Bon appétit ! Do make yourself at home and eat and drink as your soul is filled. If the meal is appetising to you; feel free to complain to the chef, or simply dump it into the disposal. Peace, Light and Love . . . CordieB.

  gezG wrote @

hello dear
I saw you comment, and yes you may share my post! After all, it was inspired by this one, so really the credit stems back to you and the authors you share here! Thank nyou for the privelegde =]
-g

  cordieb wrote @

gezG also known as lost widow. Thank you so much for comments and for allowing me to share your beautiful words on my blog. Those words you wrote were very spiritual and thought provoking. Thanks for sharing. PLL, CordieB.

@RawDawg. Great thought! Love your poetry! Very sensual indeed! PLL, CordieB.

  Who am I – or – who I am « Looking in the Mirror wrote @

[…] ago after reading a recent post which shared several writer’s poetry finding self and who we are .  I was so touched by her writing that I asked her If I could share her beautiful poem with […]


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

