Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Another Spirital Riddle ~By CordieB

Photo courtesy of COCOMARIPOSA   and is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Like a thief at night, I entered your heart

I sampled your thoughts and broke them apart

I pulled up a veil to cover your joy

I enlisted The Negative Army to aid and employ

More negative intities to arrest your light

And make all days seem dark, although they are bright

My army of entities brought blind folds and rope

To bind all your joy and blind all your hope

Because you are not smart as you thought you were

You forgot your reality, thus I became your connoisseur

I simply awaited for that dark dismal, yet really bright day

When life was fine; thus you forgot to be thankful and pray

When all of a sudden in your mist of content

I snuck into your mind, Oh! not by sheer accident

For my purpose was to vanquish all optomist from your mind

To leave you deserted, lost, humbled and blind

What seemed happy and wonderful now seems so bleak

What you craved on yesterday, you don’t even seek

You can not foresee another sunshine tomorrow

For your forcast is shadowed by self sadness and sorrow

But if you really look at the blessings bestowed upon life

You would vanish me quickly; dismiss the false strife

Realize the reality of beauty and light

Know that nothing is more important than the love for your life

But the repetitive thoughts, and high walls of oppression

Sustain only a dismal past and no future possession.

Of the happines and love you once grasped so well

By the absense of love; this is your earthly hell

And melancholic thoughts and memories have become an obsession

You ask who am I to be so evil? I am the deadly spirit of Depression.

~By CordieB.

_______________________________

The phenominal art displayed at the top of this post was created by a very talented artist, COCOMARIPOSA    and is titled, “The Five Stages of Grief (Depression #4)”    The series is very creative; I suggest you visit. 

Symtoms of Depression are:

  • persistent sad, anxious, or “empty” mood;
  • feelings of hopelessness and pessimism;
  • feelings of guilt, worthlessness, and helplessness;
  • loss of interest or pleasure in hobbies and activities that were once enjoyed, including sex;
  • decreased energy and fatigue;
  • nervousness or sluggishness;
  • difficulty concentrating, remembering, and making decisions;
  • insomnia, early-morning awakening, or oversleeping;
  • appetite and/or weight loss, or overeating and weight gain;
  • thoughts of death or suicide;
  • suicide attempts;
  • restlessness and irritability; and
  • persistent physical symptoms that do not respond to treatment, such as headaches, digestive disorders, and chronic pain.
  • If you or a love one is experiencing symtoms of depression, I strongly suggest that you seek medical attention because usually by the time we realize our depressed state, we are in need of at least a temporary boost to get our brain chemicals back on track.  If you believe you can handle this yourself, please try to talk to someone and of course embrace your spiritual self. 

    I have found spirituality to be a profound cure for depression; however, spirituality is a personal choice – and in states of depression, normally we are incapable of allowing the light to shine without help.  But once back on track; I have found spirituality, as in embracing love, to be the best preventive measure known.  The following are a few web sites that you may want to visit if you feel you are experiencing grief or depression:

    http://www.depression.com/understanding_depression.html

    http://www.medicinenet.com/depression/article.htm

    http://www.depression.org.nz/

    8 Comments»

      glaize wrote @

    Creep into my mind, did you?
    The darkness you have drawn upon me
    Your shadow army has bound me
    To the cold, harsh reality

    You fed me with silent lies
    In the darkness I thought they were the Light
    You gave me a drink of Despair
    Silently you choked me with Hopelessness
    And I foolishly thought you were giving me a new breath of air

    Oh, Life was fine indeed till you came
    I rebuked my Creator though he has done me no wrong
    I rebuked him for his harsh lessons
    Little did I know I was preparing a way for you
    To come and and conquer me

    But no more!
    No more you live in me
    All once, ages ago
    Yet i have not forgotten
    I foolishly let you enter
    You foolishly left your footprints
    Now I hear
    The silent shouts of warning
    Each time you approach

    O Depression, I know your face now
    I fell once, twice
    I fell again and again
    But now that I know you
    I’ll stand against you

    In my armour of Faith
    Empowered with Love gifted by the Divine
    I’ll reclaim myself

    Your entry reminds me of a past experience, one that would have torn my soul into pieces if that was literally possible. I’ve experienced the darkness and I hated it. I was drowning in false beliefs (no, not religious beliefs). I thought I’d never get out. It was a time when nobody could saved me yet they thought they’re doing me the deed.

    Trapped in darkness till Love gave me a call. And once more, I see the Light.

    Thank you, Cordieb.
    Love, peace and joy. Blessings to you.

      SanityFound wrote @

    You described the darkness with intensity and beautiful words, a sad subject but lightened by the light you shine. Thank you for sharing this one Cordie, brilliantly done! Mwah!

      cordieb wrote @

    @Glaize- Welcome! Thanks Glaize for such beautiful and inspiring words. This is the first time anyone responded with a poem; I am truly honored and humbled. As you say, love does conquor this evil spirit; I will try to keep my love strong and remember such loving souls as yourself – thanks for the reminder! Peace, Light and Love, Cordieb.

    @SanityFound – Thanks for your continued ears (eyes), light and love. You’re my South African Angel! Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

      cordieb wrote @

    @Glaize. I forgot to say, your poem is phenominal! You’ve captured this emotion with feeling and depth! Thanks again!

      C Desjarlais wrote @

    Most of us feel that sadness betimes, but when it comes and takes up residence, or we identify with it, then we are in trouble. I have learned alogn the way, that when you allow that cocoon to be itself, it will burst its bindings and fly…. I lvoe the quote about the caterpillar not knowing its potential…I have drawn it, written about it…and have watched it happen in my own life. Thank you for your beautiful blog.
    Carol.

      rawdawgbuffalo wrote @

    depression is no joke my daughters mom has bipolar which includes depression

      cordieb wrote @

    @ C Desjarlais – Thank you for your wisdom and your kind words. Depression can be as debilitating and cripling as any other illness; yet so many people do not take it seriously. We must all take time, as you do, to heal our minds as well as our bodies before the desease gets out of control. Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

    @RawDawgB. Living with or being in a relationship with someone who suffers from bi-polar or any other mental illness can be quite stressful. We must remember to heal our minds just as we remember to heal our bodies. We can not give what we do not have; and all of us are not apt to deal with the mentally ill; as we still have healing to do ourselves. Support, prayer and understanding is needed in these situations, because usually the highs and lows are really hard to deal with from our “normal” perspective. But who’s to say what is normal and what is not. Just love her for what she is and realize what you can give and what you can’t. Do not let her illness consume you; you have to remain true to self. Above else, try not to let it affect your daughter because she as at the age when her experiences will mold her future forever. Teach your daugher to understand the illness for what it is, an illness. Teach her to be honest with you regarding her mother and not be afraid to tell you what she feels and experiences. That way you can intercept when things get out of control; as I’m sure they will until she is healed. Peace, Light and Love to you and yours . . . My thoughts and prayers are with you.

      Phew is it another one? « SanityFound’s Rambling’s wrote @

    […] miss CordieB’s “Spiritual riddle” about all of this, if you’ve ever been there her words will connected with the deepest […]


    Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

