Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Love vs. Religion

My blog friend Marie wrote this some time ago.  I’ve shared it once before, but I love it so much, and feel so compelled to share it that I’m reposting once more.  Peace, Light and Love, CordieB. 

There was this girl who was Christian and this guy who was Muslim they fell in love. They wanted to get married and live their lives together. Then Religion was brought into the relationship. He told her that if they got married the kids would have to be his religion. She quickly responded that she wanted her kids to be Christians. There was an invisible wall put up between them from that moment on. Her love for him grew strong and she even thought that maybe she could change him or find a way to persuade him that it could work. But this thought of how much she loves Jesus kept coming into her mind and that her kids would not be able to feel that love from Jesus or for Jesus if she was marry him and have kids with him. He was also very concerned if he would marry her about the fate of their children’s soul. He told her that if she could not agree that the children would be Muslim then they would have to end the relationship.

Many nights she cried herself to sleep over this situation then one morning while crying her heart out to Jesus she heard a very stern voice. The voice said, “My plan is greater than your plan, you asked me to bring you a husband that you can love with all of your heart and he would love you with all of his heart and I did, do not make this complicated don’t allow your differences to destroy a LOVE that has come from above.”

She wasn’t sure on how to interpret this voice her heart was telling her to be with her true love but the pressure from what she learned through her religion and society was also preaching at her.

Well, they separated he went his way she went her way. They often thought of each other and prayed for each other and the thoughts filled with that burning love would flow in the wind across oceans and deserts reminding each that they still exist and that they were each others true love. She soon married and man who was Christian and who loved her dearly, and she gave birth to a handsome boy.

He married also to a beautiful woman who was also a Muslim they tried to have kids but later found out he was not able to give her children.

Years passed by her son grew older she was please that she had the chance to bring her child up in the church and teach him about Jesus and his love.

 One day her world came crashing down around her. Her handsome son returned home from college and he was a changed man! He told her about this religion that was introduced to him and how it touched his heart so deeply and he knows that it is right for him. Her son had converted to Islam. 

~ The End~

12 Comments»

  Sorrow wrote @

Now i have to know why you like his one…
because the possibilities are endless…

  cordieb wrote @

Well, I like it because the moral is to follow your heart. I guess people like me never learn to not follow our hearts (smile) . But heart following has endless possiblities, too, as I well know. Ain’t life grand! Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

  Glenn wrote @

Cordie:

When people ask me what religion I am, I always say “I am a spiritual — not religious — person.

I was born Jewish but never identified with it. The fundamentalists in Georgia turned me off to Christianity with their sanctimony and hypocrisy. The sexism of Islam completely goes against my core values.

Even though I practice Eastern techniques like Yoga and Mantra Meditation daily, I stay as far away from the dogma as possible.

Why? Because my Higher Self, that is my heart center within never leads me astray. But the only thing I ever got out of organized religion was doubt, confusion, guilt, and sometimes total disbelief.

I will never forget my childhood friends who attended Catholic School and how they always came home bloodied. I guess Rome called that “Beating in the name of God.” They were also taught that masturbation will lead to blindness and the growth of hair on their palms.

Give me a break!

  SanityFound wrote @

Aww I just love this one, for me it is about making choices in life, the right road will always come in the end even when we make the wrong ones, God’s plan always prevails no matter what we do about it. Perhaps then it is just better to accept what is and live in the now, follow your heart/gut and live – what will be will be may as well enjoy 🙂

Fabulous! Thanks for sharing my friend! Mwah!

  Sorrow wrote @

Cordie~
okay, I can get behind following your heart!
I am very cautious when it comes to anything religious as i live in an area that is VERY fundamentalist. I get copious amounts of flack because my children attend a christian church, and I most defiantly am not. I have taught my kids that There are as many paths to God/enlightenment as there are people, and no one road is the right road for everyone.
so, I liked the story!

  Sue Ann Edwards wrote @

So….if she had married the guy, she wouldn’t have had a son at all?

  cordieb wrote @

Sue Ann – interesting concept. You’re the first to even notice that point! Very perspective are you – as always. (wink!)

Our choices shape our destiny; our destiny shapes our choices. Who knows!

What’s your view? Just curious – as always.
Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

  Sue Ann Edwards wrote @

(smiling)

What I ‘see’ is that no matter her choices, that on her inner level, is working an issue that her Soul is going to put into her face until such times as she faces/d it. The issue being in looking to an authority figure outside herself. Both her fella’ and her son, expressed it, for it was their choice to surrender their authority of their lives over to others, in this case, an “organized religion”.

Which is truly only a social organization of those who believe in like ideas. For “religion”, is a sublimely personal and individual experience. INTIMATE experience. Something we just don’t *get*, if we’ve never “had”.

The issue is the issue of “Authority”, as in, who is going to be the author of our own lives?

And once we yield to “what other people are going to think about us” or to “how other people are going to feel about us”, is the moment we have betrayed our own Souls.

It is also the moment we have taken a giant step out of Reality and, in our Heart, we *know* it, whether anyone else knows it or not.

And since we reap whatever we sow, over and over the betrayal of authority will keep popping up in our lives. No matter what choices we make.

Until the day we heal the issue of our own self betrayal and TAKE BACK the Sovereignty of our own lives, based on what our Hearts tell us to be True, TO.

{{{hugs}}}

  cordieb wrote @

@Sue Ann – TO????? (What does that mean?)

Yeah we do have to look for the lesson when the same issues keep popping up. Of course, if we are truly honest with ourselves and act accordingly we will have NO regrets.

Excellent perspective, as always – Thanks for sharing your wisdom with us!

There are so many of us who never realize these things until they are pointed out or we sat down and really look deep into ourselves. A genle teaching and reminder is just what’s in order for me today. Thanks!!!!

Peace, Light and Love,
CordieB.

  Sue Ann Edwards wrote @

No one can tell for another what experiences our Soul desires. And to those desires we must remain True, even tho those same desires may not be shared in common with others.

In being True to his heart, one of my friends is now back fishing for snow crab in the Bering Sea. He HAS invited me to come along but…this would not be being True to mine. The very LAST thing I enjoy is the mixture of wet AND cold.

I enjoy eating snow crab and it takes characters like my friend to find fishing for them something their hearts enjoy.

c?

  cordieb wrote @

@Sue Ann. What is TO – an abbreviation you used at the end of your comment?

“Until the day we heal the issue of our own self betrayal and TAKE BACK the Sovereignty of our own lives, based on what our Hearts tell us to be True, TO.”

Oh, never mind. I see its a preposition TO. I’ve been waiting for an answer and it was there all along – oh my oh my. You’ve done it again Sue Ann! Peace, Light and Love, CordieB. Mwah!!!

  cordieb wrote @

@Sue Ann. C=Cordie


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

