Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Sunday Mornings

Sunday Mornings Remind Me . . . A Triolet

Sunday mornings remind me

of days gone by when life was oh so free;

of birds singing melodies in lazy trees

     Sunday mornings remind me

of spring rains and summer breezes

Winter’s first fallen snow; Autumn’s falling leaves

     Sunday mornings remind me . . .

of tranquilities–Life’s intended easiness

~By CordieB.

This poem was written as a reply to Totally Optional Prompts , a totally optional poetry prompting blog.  This week’s “prompt” is entitled Prompt: Triolet .   

From Totally Optional Prompts . . .

So what exactly is a triolet? Here are the rules, according Poets.org.

The attraction of the triolet is that it’s short: there are only eight lines total, and five unique lines. But the essence of the triolet is not only repetition, but surprise in repetition. The challenge is to make the repeat lines mean different things, instead of simply repeating them.

You can change the relationship of the words in the repeat lines to the lines before and after, by manipulating the punctuation. Also, as with other repetitive forms such as villanelles and sestinas, modern poetic conventions allow the repeat lines to vary a little. Of course, if you let them vary too much, you lose the impact.

Read some fine example triolets

 

Totally Optional Prompt (TOP) Button

To submit a poem, please visit Totally Optional. . . It’s totally optional.

Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

15 Comments»

  jan wrote @

this is just beautiful! great job on the triolet! thanks also, for visiting my blog!

  cordieb wrote @

Thanks Jan. It was a pleasure visiting your site.! I felt right at home. Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

  CuriousC wrote @

I like the word ‘triolet’.

  cordieb wrote @

@CuriousC. It is kind of melodic, isn’t it. I like it too!

  johnnypeepers wrote @

I like the word triolet too. At first I thought it was a three bowled toilet. New words are cool.

  cordieb wrote @

@Peeps. ROFL – thanks for the belly laugh – I better hurry to the triolet before I pee pee on myself. . . As always, Peace, Light and Love, brother – CordieB.

  brightlightwarriornika wrote @

Hey Cordie,

here is the link to the blog love vs religion
http://nikabrightlightwarrior.wordpress.com/2007/12/15/love-vs-religion/

  cordieb wrote @

@Brightlightwarriornika, THANK YOU! Peace, Light and Love, CordieB.

  stan wrote @

Very relaxing. I’m waiting for sunday, now.

  Rob Kistner wrote @

I really enjoyed this — and I love Sunday mornings. When I was young and single, Sunday mornings were spent lazily in bed, curled with my lover, listening to music — until we sauntered off the a brunch somewhere. Oh the passion of youth! 😉

Now they’re spent with the woman, who is the love of my life… for certain — Sunday mornings are wonderful!

  cordieb wrote @

@Stan. {{{hugs}}} I’m awaiting Sunday Morning too. Love those Sunday Mornings. . .Blessings to you and yours. . .

@Rob Kistner – {{{hugs}}} You’re a blessed man; and even more so for realizing it! Peace, Light and Love to you and yours.. . . CordieB.

  Crafty Green Poet wrote @

I like the ‘lazy trees’ – nice phrase

  annie wrote @

Feels very comforting. I like this.

  Linda Jacobs wrote @

I love Sunday mornings and you captured the feeling perfectly here!

  cordieb wrote @

@Crafty Green Poet. Thanks for dropping by. – Love your blog!

@Annie – Thanks Annie. Blessings to you and yours. Your blog post today lifted my spirits. Thank for the inspiration! Peace, Light and Love to you and yours. . . CordieB.

@ Linda Jacobs. Thanks Linda. Sundays are so beautiful – God knew the plan when he made it special. Peace, Light and Love to you and yours, CordieB.


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

