Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

A Spiritual Riddle – The Darkest Shadow -By CordieB

 shadow
Photo courtesy of Jill Greeseth , and is licenced under the Creative Commons

I am the tallest, darkest shadow to fall upon the hearts of men;
I have caused enormous calamity, failure and sin;
With me in a heart, humans seldom ever win.

Such a cold, dark, shallow shadow am I;
I bring on fears and tears, causing humans to sigh, asking why?

I’ve destroyed countless relationships, successes and faith;
I’m quite subtle, yet very strong is my wrath;
All minds and hearts will inevitably at times see me in their path.

All humans encounter me, some more than another;
You see, insecurity is my sister and worry is my brother;
My father is fear; suspicion, my mother.
I embrace souls at night like a new found lover. 
If you are not carefull, I will suffocate you under my dark, thick cover.

Like a blanket of dread, I cover my prey;
To release yourself of my wrath, you must kneel down and pray;
Stay thankful and hopeful, live day by day.  

I’ve had many second-guessing what’s wrong from right.
I cause anxiousness, apprehensiveness,
and can make hearts uptight;
But my shadow is very easily overcome by the family of light . . .

For the bright light of hope, faith, and love shine so bright
And they bring courage, security and trust to join in the fight;
Such illuminosity, clarity, and brilliance is their light,
It will cause my dark, deep shadow to fade and disappear straight into the night!

Who am I?      (click below for answer)

I am the Shadow of Doubt

Written by:  CordieB.

11 Comments»

  ghettophilosopher wrote @

Before I see the answer, I am going to guess Hate.

  ghettophilosopher wrote @

Man, I got it wrong. You know that doubt isn’t the opposite of belief? I always thought it was in my head. Would always say that people doubted because they didn’t believe but that isn’t true. I had to read a book to make me realize that. Disbelief or Unbelief is the opposite of faith or belief. To doubt means to be of two minds and basically to need more proof. Nice riddle. Keep em coming my sistah!!

  cordieb wrote @

Ghettophilospher said, ” . . . You know that doubt isn’t the opposite of belief? . . . . To doubt means to be of two minds and basically to need more proof.” That’s absolutely true; Thanks for enlighting. I never really ever thought about it that way. In court to be convicted of capital crime, the suspect must be proven guilty beyond a shadow of doubt, meaning, not needing any more proof and not being in any way undecided. This so often happens in our everyday life and keeps us motionless; not making any progress, and not going backwards either.

  Tomas wrote @

I see the incredibly sunny picture here. Your shadow was erased by God’s love and you accepted that grace by faith – you are the child of light and have the company with the faithful.
Be well my friend.

@Tomas. I am most gracious to you dear Tomas. Thanks for such uplifting words. Well needed to day. Peace, Light and Love, Cordieb

  Visionary wrote @

Oh my gosh another great riddle and another lollipop – I can’t wait! I think I need the spiritual equivalent of toothpaste though or my teeth will suffer 😉

I love when simple assumptions come under the scrutiny of awareness and we discover they weren’t quite what we had thought they were. Thanks GhettoPhilosopher.

We live in a reality of polar opposites, hot/cold, good/bad, rich/poor etc. Without one the other does not exist.

Once everything was one and when everything is one there is no-thing. Imagine a snowflake falling towards a snow-covered landscape. As we watch it fall, we see it’s unique crystalline shape and the gentle way it flutters to earth. The moment it lands on the snow covered ground, it disappears without a trace!

The polar opposite of doubt is certainty. If I have a doubt, I am uncertain. If I am certain there is no room for doubt.

Cordie, doubt can paralyse and prevent movement but because we know we don’t know, it also allows us to remain open to learning. Certainty allows confident movement but does not allow learning because in our certainty we will never question.

We don’t know who, what, why, when, where or how we are. How can we be certain of anything else?

Doubt/Certainty, Good/Bad – who knows!

@visionary. “I can’t wait! I think I need the spiritual equivalent of toothpaste though or my teeth will suffer ;)” I honestly didn’t get that until I got home today after reading it early this morning. Will you settle for sugur free? Peace, light and love, CordieB.

  Glenn wrote @

Eastern Thought could identify the evil as the ego and the antidote as the connection with one’s True Self through a great deal of hard work and commitment.

Who were your characters Cordie?

  cordieb wrote @

@Glenn – Glenn said – Who were your characters Cordie?

I don’t understand the question, please elaborate.

  Glenn wrote @

I meant “Who am I?” I couldn’t find the answer at first. Then I just saw it was right under my nose — the last place I looked!

I have found doubt is clearly another nasty creation of the ego. When others show enough doubt in you while you are a kid and vulnerable — which happens a great deal in our society — you start believing it yourself and your ego plays all that negative crap back day in and day out!

  cordieb wrote @

@ glenn. “you start believing it yourself and your ego plays all that negative crap back day in and day out! ”

I’m so glad that you grew up Glenn. Some people never grow up and still believe all the lies they were/ are fed. Some even pass these lies onto their own children or anyone who will believe the nonscence in order to make themselves feel better or just as a way of control. Redemption is a true blessing – pass it on!!!!!

  Visionary wrote @

@ Cordie lol – Sugar free is not for me I’m afraid. I prefer the real thing to artificial anything. If something isn’t good for me, I I’d rather employ self-control or abstention over substitution.

I think I’ll be ok with a couple of lollipops a week though 😉

Love to you V
x

  Glenn wrote @

“…….Some even pass these lies onto their own children or anyone who will believe the nonscence in order to make themselves feel better or just as a way of control……”

Cordie:

“SOME” pass these lies on?

I believe this is very reason this society is so screwed up. And the “American Way” — with its emphasis on wealth, status and prestige — just aggravates the problem.

Have you ever gone into the hood and asked some of the teens there if they really believe they could be president if they want to? It would make a great storyline for a Bill Cosby — my favorite father — special!


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

