Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Happy Golden Birthday to the Peace Sign! One World One Soul!

 

I read on MSN this morning that this week marks the 50th anniversary of the Peace Sign. The symbol was first used in a nuclear disarmament march in a March from London to Aldermaston, Britain.  Around 5000 marchers participated in that event.

The simplistic Peace Symbol that most anyone can scribble (it took me approximately 15 minutes to do it in Illustrator) is actually quite complex. Gerald Holtom, a commercial artist, suggested that the those marching to the atomic weapons research plant in Aldermastoncarry signs painted with a neat, tidy and powerful symbol. There is meaning to each of the lines and the circle of the symbol.  The meaning originate in the words nuclear disarmament – using the N and the D from those two words and a naval flag signaling system, Holtom created the Peace Symbol. 

The Peace Symbol has been used as a visual sign of solidarity in marches for anti-violence, anti-weaponry, civil rights, women’s rights, gay rights and movements to stop wars, among many other  peace initiatives and human rights issues. Those who marched and protested for peace were often the victims of violence. Some even lost their lives. 

So today – I’d like to say, Happy Golden Anniversary, Peace Sign!  I hope that there will come a time, when you can finally retire and rest and we shall not practice hatred and war no more. 

On that note, my friend SanityFound has initiated One World One Soul – for those of us who dream of a  better world but don’t know quite what to do.  It’s a place where we can ping back on each others ideas and actually help those in need.  Check out One World One Soul  for further information. 

Peace, Light and Love,

CordieB

 

15 Comments»

  Sorrow wrote @

There is so much energy behind a symbol, don’t you think? I was hunting on the web for a peace symbol for my dreamboard I did ( sacred Suzies Google blog) and found this off the wall link that said it was the symbol of devil worship…
Wow.
I guess why can ascribe whatever meaning we want to things…
But I like Peace..
and Love
can’t ever get to much of that in my world!

{{Sorrow}} Thanks for visiting. Like the song says, What the world needs now is love sweet love, Love’s the only thing’s there’s not plenty of! But, I’m sure your life is quite bountiful in love – especially from your little peanut.

Peace, Light and Love
CordieB

  johnnypeepers wrote @

Interesting post Cordie. I did a quick bit of research on the symbol myself. From the following it seems that peeps can always find something from nothing.

“The fact that the symbol resembles a bird foot in a circle gave rise to spurious alternative interpretations, ranging from plain mockery of “crow’s foot” or “The footprint of the American Chicken” (suggesting that peace activists were cowards) to a number of occult meanings, such as an upside down crucifix with the arms broken downward, suggesting the way that St. Peter was martyred (see Cross of St. Peter). Others have claimed that the symbol resembles a medieval sign known as “Nero’s Cross” that represents Satanism.”

Yeah whatever, we know what it means now though, stop da killin’ you murderous thugs!

{{Peace on my brotha!}}

  JustOrdinary wrote @

Right on!

{{Justordinary}} Peace for us ordinary folks! Peace, Peace, Peace!!

  SanityFound wrote @

As you say my friend Peace, Light and Love Mwah 😀

{{Mwah bach at cha . . . sanity found}}

  connie wrote @

I have in the past heard the negative connotations however I find the origin of the peace symbol as you have stated very interesting. It is a universal symbol of peace to most people and there is always opposition in all things so we must continue to shine a light and send the message of peace despite the naysayers!

<blockquote>{{Connie – Those naysayers must be afraid of the light – perhaps if they lose their fear, they will realize that the light won’t hurt them – keep your bright light shining!!!}}</blockquote>

  persistentillusion wrote @

I see the ‘D’, but am clueless about finding the ‘N’.

It amazing that someone just invented this symbol to have a specific meaning and the meaning is just as powerful today, even more organically so.

{{PI – What does it mean? Gerald Holtom, a conscientious objector who had worked on a farm in Norfolk during the Second World War, explained that the symbol incorporated the semaphore letters N(uclear) and D(isarmament).
N D

He later wrote to Hugh Brock, editor of Peace News, explaining the genesis of his idea in greater, more personal depth:I was in despair. Deep despair. I drew myself: the representative of an individual in despair, with hands palm outstretched outwards and downwards in the manner of Goya’s peasant before the firing squad. I formalised the drawing into a line and put a circle round it.

Who knows??? But, I like the Peace symbol – it’s also cool!

Peace!!

D N

He later wrote to Hugh Brock, editor of Peace News, explaining the genesis of his idea in greater, more personal depth:I was in despair. Deep despair. I drew myself: the representative of an individual in despair, with hands palm outstretched outwards and downwards in the manner of Goya’s peasant before the firing squad. I formalised the drawing into a line and put a circle round it.

  SurfaceEarth wrote @

This is so lovely Cordie. Thank you for the hope it speaks of…I look forward to reading more.

SE

{{SE – Let there be peace on earth and let it begin in me! – You’ve already started with and evolving even more so with Surface Earth – Namaste my friend.}}

  SurfaceEarth wrote @

btw: just read your piece in the second column as to the little girl shivering in the cold. Very powerful.

{{Surface Earth, So often we blame God, but we have been empowered to make positive changes and yet we let those opportunities blow in the wind}}

  gypsy-heart wrote @

I have SO many memories connected to this sign!

As usual your words were of love:
“we shall not practice hatred and war no more.”

That is our prayer isn’t it!

You are a being of light CordieB!

{{If only prayer were enough – Let there be peace on earth and let it begin in me and you}} Peace, Gypsy!

  cordieb wrote @

@all. Thanks for all your feedback – it made me smile. I’ve left individual comments under your comments. Keep the Peace!!!

Peace, Light and Love,
CordieB.

  Grace wrote @

PEACE 🙂

I love the fact that “my” generation made the Peace Symbol part of the fabric of American culture. Every time I see one, I smile.

Thanks for the huge GRIN today!!

((( Cordie!! )))

Yeah (( Grace!)) the Peace symbol, sign and the original smiley face always put a smile on my heart – I’m glad I made you grin. Namaste my friend!

  Glenn wrote @

The peace sign will always hold a special place in my heart. I can’t possible count the number of times people used to bid my goodbye during the “Good ol’ days” with the hand peace sign (The middle and index fingers extended like a V with others wrapped around them).

And there was so much unconditional love then among us hippies. I still can’t understand WTF happened?

I can remember after an abscence of about 15 years, I saw this pin in a New Age shop in Atlanta in the early 90s that had the Peace Sign and the words “Back By Popular Demand” below it.

  Cordieb wrote @

I hope that description of how the hands and fingers were held was described for the younger generation! – Cause I loved those days! Peace!!! my friend!!!

  marlajayne wrote @

I’m SO glad that I read this. During lunch today, I cruised through TJ Maxx in search of a baby gift, and while in there, I noticed some cool necklaces made of beads, and a few of them had the peace sign. I picked a couple of them up and considered buying one but then I changed my mind. Why I’m not sure. Maybe because I thought I’m too old (aging hippie)…in any case, I’m going to go back and buy one and wear it proudly as a reminder to keep peace in our hearts, souls, and homes…and to try to create it wherever we go.

  Tomas wrote @

The picture warmed me at a glimpse and I was gazing at it for a long till I started to read and discovered the meaning of the symbol… Peace…
Light silenced my complaints prior they could appear… golden ring … my dearest, THANK YOU – blogging have washed me – your knowledge decorates my current being and dark perspective to quit blogging because of my impotency to purchase the new computer don’t threaten me any more, because we have met and your memory will go with me wherever I will go = peace is much more than symbol – that’s our attitude on ourselves – the way we breath – THANK YOU


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

