Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

Buz word of the Week – Harmony

Hello World! 

Warning!  I’m a little off balanced today.  But don’t worry, that might just be a good thing!  I used to think that being well balanced was a good thing until watching the Today Show this morning.  Now, I realize that even if I am out of balance, it really isn’t that awful-because balance is not good, AT ALL.  According to James Arthur Ray, “balance is bogus. . . .True happiness: it’s not about balance; it’s about harmony.” 

Well thanks a lot Mr. Ray for tipping my scales this morning and throwing me WAY off balance.  Just when I thought I was doing great–I was feeling well balanced, I was feeling quite happy about most of my life; along comes this expert telling me that “balance is bogus.”    In fact, Ray authoritively tells us, “where there is balance , there is no energy ; nothing is happening .” 

According to Ray, “In contrast, when all pieces move together in complete harmony, like the instruments in an orchestra, levels of happiness, wealth, and success soar.”  

I was simply devastated!  I had a hard enough time trying to get somewhat balanced; now I’ve got to strive to have everything working together like instuments in an orchestra!  And guess what, Mr. Ray can show me how to obtain this harmony for only $16.47 – Imagine that!  Sixteen forty seven will not even throw my checkbook out of balance!    I’m only sixteen dollars and forty seven cents away from harmony, and thus ultimate happiness!  I can’t wait to purchase this book.  I wonder if I will be coached to sing a song in the shower and hum a melody while cooking dinner for my family.  I’ll be whistling to work and keeping a harmonic rythym on my keyboard while I’m balancing harmonizing the corporate budget.  Ooops, did I use the word balance again; THAT’S NOT GOOD. 

When I was a girl, my parents thought it was a virtue to simply be well rounded .  Now that I’m older, roundness doesn’t seem to attract anything– especially happiness from outside sources.  As time went on, being grounded became the key to happiness. . . . imagine that?  Going from roundedness to well grounded.  Every time I tried to stay stuck to the ground, something  or someone would simply push me and make me roll, because I had spent so much time practicing on being well rounded, I could easily have been mistaken for a ball.   

Soon, I realized the key was not in what I did, but in what I thought.  If I thought happy thoughts all the time, one could roll over me with a freight truck, and I’d still be laughing.  It never happened, so I can’t really prove that theory. 

After thinking all positives . . . I moved on to dressing the part.  We are what we wear was the evolutionary discovery.  So, I’d break my budget ensuring that I had the latest and greatest business suites to match the role of my ultimate goddest.  Mind you, I was only making minimum wage.   But hey, I was aiming to be the executive, so I dressed like she did!  I ended up with with FAR too many credit card bills and not enough money  – but I dressed fabulously!  No one told me that I needed a good credit score to get into management.  Silly me!   

I was feeling really down and out about this, then I was monumentally informed that happiness has absolutely nothing to do with money or having a good credit score.  It’s all about love and nothing else matters.   I could live in a homeless shelter due to lack of money and still be really happy.   This theory did help me raise my credit debt ratio though.  I didn’t buy anything extravagant, because I didn’t have the credit or that kind of cash.  I loved everything , even hard times.  But the dissolution came when I realized that my kids were being teased in school for wearing bee bops (dollar store brand) when everyone else were wearing Nike or Reebocs.  Oh my . . . I thought,  If I don’t care about making a materialistic life for myself, I must at least attempt to make a balanced life for them.   Bing!   I had another monumental revolution!  Even though money (alone) didn’t buy happiness, a little of it certainly helped.  Besides, I could not bear to see those kids cry another day.  It gave me headaches.  Who can be happy with a headache.   And plus, I kind of missed buying a nice new black pump, every so often, anyway.  

After further reflection–especially since my balance method is now passé, I’m now wishing I would have stuck with the most evolutionary  discovery ever to hit the Earth.  It is truly the key to HARMONY, thus HAPPINESS.    If I had stuck with the concept I’m about to enlighten you about, I would not be in the disharmonized (is that a real word?  It is now.)  mood I’m now in.   But I thought I’d come a long way, baby . . .so I gave up on this momentous, sweeping discovery.  However, It is not hard to do.  In fact it’s really quite easy!  You don’t have to purchase a book, you don’t even have to change your thought patterns.  I’m going to let you on to this long forgotten SECRET today – right here on this posting!  FREE OF CHARGE!!!

Perhaps some of you can remember it . . .

I’m going back to being practicing  ENGOLI !  I can bring home the bacon, fry it up in a pan, and never let him forget he’s a man.  . . Cause I’m a woman!  Enjoli!



Talk about HARMONY!   And to think it comes in a bottle and smells joyously too! Just spray your way to happiness!  Now, that’s bliss, paradise, nervana, untimate consciousness . . . oh my what’s the correct term for heaven now.  I think I may be confused.   Anywho . . .

Perhaps I’ll go home, have a nice meal with my family, chill with them for a bit, then get me a glass of wine and blog for a while-that’s my method for happiness and bliss, at least for today. 

Peace, Light Love,

CordieB. 

10 Comments»

  SanityFound wrote @

You know when I first read the word Engoli I thought “Whoa I didn’t know she could speak Sotho!!!” One of our 11 official languages – truly spelt Egoli meaning Gold, or place of Gold 🙂

I loved this post of yours, how true each and every word, thanks for sharing and have a glass of that wine for me!

Mwah!

  cordieb wrote @

@SanityFound. Cheers!

  johnnypeepers wrote @

Inspiring post Cordie, harmony indeed. The two bit Oprah/Dr. Phil TV charlatans are a dime a dozen. Too many take their spiel as gospel though, especially the desperate house wives looking for soul completion. I know one thing, no two-bit huckster pimping psycho-babble is gonna bring you happiness, no siree. And that goes for Rev. Dollar, Hagee, Falwell, Robertson, Osteen, and all the rest of those millionaire organized religion false-teaching pimps.

Peace, harmony, and balance emanates outward. It cannot be bottled and ingested like aspirin. The Light Warriors are a threat to the hucksters because they cannot profit on self-awareness and individualized harmony.

  CordieB wrote @

I know Peeps. It never fails to amaze me how so many people give their money and sometimes their lives to those happiness pimps! I would think that common sense would prevail to let us know that happiness can’t be brought, and that we will experience happiness, sadness, joy, anger and everything that’s on the emotional scales as long as we are humans! We can choose how we react to any given sensor; but we certainly can’t purchase it! Besides, the best advice is always asked for and always free! Not pimped!

  Author wrote @

“Perhaps I’ll go home, have a nice meal with my family, chill with them for a bit, then get me a glass of wine and blog for a while-that’s my method for happiness and bliss, at least for today. ”

Sounds good to me! 🙂

  persistentillusion wrote @

ROFL!!! Oh my god, I LOVE that commercial!

  cordieb wrote @

@PI. Glad you like it – I’ts pretty uplifting, don’t you think? BTW, what does ROFL mean? You know us 40+ ers don’t always know all the jargon.

  johnnypeepers wrote @

If I may speak for PI, it means “rolling on the floor laughing.” The use of these abbreviations is a product of the MTV, hormone-fed, instant gratification ADHD generation. It is a form of Internet short-hand for the kids.

  persistentillusion wrote @

Whoops! Sorry. ROFL = Rolling On Floor Laughing

  persistentillusion wrote @

Thanks, peeps. 🙂


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

