Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

If


My Son Sam – It’s Wonderful When Boys can Be Boys

I read the following poem on Sue Ann Edward’s, Always Embraces Always blog a few days ago, and I feel compelled to share it as well.  I hope it enlightens you as it has me.

If
by Rudyard Kipling

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But can make allowance for their doubting too;
If you can wait and not be tired by the waiting,
Or, being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk to wise:

If you can dream – and not make the dream your master
If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same:

If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build’em up with worn-out tools;

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings,
And never breathe a word about your loss;

If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

If you can walk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with Kings – nor lose the common touch
If neither foes nor friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much:
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And – which is more – you’ll be a Man, my son!

8 Comments»

  Tomas wrote @

Thank you.
Today is my birthday and your post is the wonderful greeting.
Thank you once again.
Thank you for visiting my blog and for the wonderful feedback.
Your words helped me more than I can report in words. Thank you.

  cordieb wrote @

Happy Birthday, Tomas. Hope you got enough rest this weekend, so that you can put that beautiful, creative energy to work! Peace, Light and Love . . .CordieB.

  SanityFound wrote @

absolutely beautiful!

  enreal wrote @

Wow!!! This holds so many wonderful insights on Life and Hope… Thanks Cordie, you’re wonderful

  Glenn wrote @

“…….If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same…..”

These are the words, above all others, that are so meaningful to me. It alludes to the Eastern concept of dispassion, which is designed to keep us all on an even keel.

Thank you so much for sharing this precious poem Cordie.

And Thomas, a belated happy birthday to you!

  Cordie `B. wrote @

@sanityfound – Thanks. That was a beautiful show of humanity you did for that older gentleman – you’re so full of compassion. I pray you always keep it.

@Enreal. You’re wonderful too! I wish we all could let our angelic essense prevail. Your words and transformation always give me hope!

@Glen. To meet with triumph and dispair is easy to accomplish once we realize that both are aspects of life. We have been tought throuth history to deal with dispair disparingly and triumph triumphantly, however both should be embraced as life. Tis not easy for me–especially when I see how so many people suffer with pain, illness, poverty and all other forms of dispair. I have truly been blessed throughtout the years, since in my times of dispair, I had other people who showed me compassion and love. Thus, I too show only compassion and love to those I can touch or help in their times of dispair. I also remind them and myself that all things change, nothing stays the same, whether it be dispair or triumphance, so there really is no point putting too much emphasis on either. Just remember that you were created in love-and love endures.

Peace, Light and Love to each and eveyone of you. If you have children or know children, please give them a hug from me. I’ve been in the hugging mood all week. Also here’s a hug to you too! {{Hugs}} – and as my friend sanityfound says, “Mwah!”

  SanityFound wrote @

Thanks Cordie same for you *hugs* MWAH!

  Glenn wrote @

That was soooooooo cool Cordie!


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

