Looking in the Mirror

Spiritual Revelations for those seeking Humanity in Humans ~~CordieB.

The Lesson of the Butterfly


Photo courtesy of aussiegall under Creative Commons License

A man spent hours watching a butterfly struggling to emerge from its cocoon. It managed to make a small hole, but its body was too large to get through it. After a long struggle, it appeared to be exhausted and remained absolutely still. The man decided to help the butterfly and, with a pair of scissors, he cut open the cocoon, thus releasing the butterfly. However, the butterfly’s body was very small and wrinkled and its wings were all crumpled. The man continued to watch, hoping that, at any moment, the butterfly would open its wings and fly away. Nothing happened; in fact, the butterfly spent the rest of its brief life dragging around its shrunken body and shrivelled wings, incapable of flight. What the man – out of kindness and his eagerness to help – had failed to understand was that the tight cocoon and the efforts that the butterfly had to make in order to squeeze out of that tiny hole were Nature’s way of training the butterfly and of strengthening its wings. Sometimes, a little extra effort is precisely what prepares us for the next obstacle to be faced. Anyone who refuses to make that effort, or gets the wrong sort of help, is left unprepared to fight the next battle and never manages to fly off to their destiny.

(Adapted from a story by Sonaira D’Avila)

7 Comments»

  Sharon wrote @

Wow, now that is nice. Quite profound. Inspirational blog – very enjoyable. Thanks.

  cordieb wrote @

Thanks Sharon for the positive feedback! Stay blessed,
CordieB

  persistentillusion wrote @

Oh how sad!

I think this would be a much better world if we could all get out of each others’ way. My only thing is that it is hard to watch someone crash and burn when they have a child – it isn’t the child’s fault that their parent is still struggling.

  SanityFound wrote @

All I can say is wow, it is sooo spot on!

  cordieb wrote @

Thanks SanityFound. I really like you set of maybe’s. Excellent food for thought.

  Denise wrote @

Maybe you can help me I have searched for hours and I am still lost.
Years ago there was a song, I believe it was by Stephen Halpren. I recall some of the lyrics and they were “Have you ever stopped to notice a tiny butterfly, he could spread his wings completely in the blinking of an eye. It’s a miracle and you know it’s true and if he can do it we can do it too.
Oh I would so appreciate any help. I want my children to enjoy the song as much as I do. It’s beautiful and extremely uplifting.
I look forward to your response.

Thank-You
Denise

  Cordie `B. wrote @

@Denise. I’m sorry; I’ve looked and I can’t find anything. I think the artist may be Steven Halpern; but I can not find it. If you should find it, please let me know. Peace, Light and Love to you and yours . .. CordieB


Speak Now; but don't forever hold your peace!

